National Transportation for Intelligent Transportation System Protocol

The National Transportation System for Intelligent Transportation System Protocol ( NTCIP ) is a family of standards designed to achieve interoperability and interchangeability between computers and electronic traffic control equipment.

The protocol is the product of a seal standardization project guided by the Joint Committee on the NTCIP, qui est Composed of six representative Each from the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), and The Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). The Joint Committee has in turn formed 14 technical working groups to develop and maintain standards, and has initiated or produced over 50 standards and information reports. [1]

The project receives funding from the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) and is part of a comprehensive family of intelligent transportation system (ITS) standards. [2]

History of the NTCIP Development

NEMA initiated the development of the NTCIP in 1992. In early 1993, the US Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) brought together transportation industry representatives to discuss barriers to installing equipment for new Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS). The data transmission protocol was used to determine the size of the communications protocol. Since the NEMA Transportation Section members had already started work on a new industry standard, they offered to expedite and expand the scope of their activities.

The NTCIP protocol was the interchangeability of similar roadside devices, and the interoperability of different types of devices on the same communications channel.

In 1996, the FHWA proposed a partnership of standards to expand both user and industry involvement. AASHTO and ITE signed an agreement with NEMA to establish the Joint Committee on the NTCIP, and to work together on developing and maintaining the NTCIP standards. [1]

NTCIP Communications Standards

Center to Field Device Communications

NTCIP has enabled the center to field communication and command / control of equipment from different manufacturers to be specified, procured, deployed, and tested. NTCIP standard communications for field devices are listed below: [3]

  • Traffic signals (NTCIP 1202)
  • Dynamic message signs (NTCIP 1203)
  • Environmental sensor stations (NTCIP 1204)
  • Closed circuit television cameras (NTCIP 1205)
  • Vehicle count stations (NTCIP 1206)
  • Freeway ramp meters (NTCIP 1207)
  • Video switches (NTCIP 1208)
  • Transportation sensor systems (NTCIP 1209)
  • Field master stations for traffic signals (NTCIP 1210)
  • Transit priority at traffic signals (NTCIP 1211)
  • Street lights (NTCIP 1213)

Center to Center Communications

Center to center (C2C) communication communication between computers and communication in real-time communication in a many-to-many network. This type of communication is similar to the Internet, in which any center can request information from, or provide information to, any number of other centers.

An example of a communication center. This authorization is required for the purposes of this. Other examples of this type of communication include: [3]

  • The present invention relates to a method and a method for detecting and evaluating the performance of a traffic signal.
  • A transit system reporting schedule adherence exceptions to a transit customer information system, while also asking a traffic signal management system to instruct its signals to give priority to a transit schedule;
  • An emergency management system, a two-way traffic system, and a system of communication;
  • A freeway management system is an integrated system for managing an emergency response system. and
  • A weather monitoring system (environmental sensors).

NTCIP standard communications for center-to-center communications are listed below: [3]

  • Data Exchange – DATEX-ASN (NTCIP 2304)
  • Web Services – XML (NTCIP 2306)

The NTCIP HAS Coordinated with other information level standards development organisms During development of the center-to-center implementation profiles and supports the ITE Traffic Management Data Dictionary (ITE TMDD) , IEEE 1512 Incident Management (IEEE 1512) , APTA Transit Communications Interface Profiles (APTA TCIP) , and SAE J2354 Standard Advanced Traveler Information Systems.

NTCIP Standards Framework

The NTCIP Framework is based on the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), and ISO , plus NTCIP data dictionary standards for the task of ITS device communications. A layered, or modular, approach to standard communications, is used to represent data communications between two computers or other electronic devices.

NTCIP refers to “levels” in NTCIP, rather than “layers” to distinguish the hierarchical architecture applied by the Open System Interconnection Reference Model ( OSI Model ) of ISO and the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). The five levels are: information level, application level, transport level, subnetwork level, and plant level. [3]

NTCIP Information, Application, Transport, Subnetwork, and Plant Levels.

To ensure a working system, deployers should select and specify at least one NTCIP protocol or profile at each level. A discussion of each level, and NTCIP standards that apply to that level, follows: [3]

  • NTCIP Information Level – Information standards. This is a dictionary. These standards are above the traditional ISO seven-layer OSI model . Information level standards represent the functionality of the system to be implemented.
  • NTCIP Application Level – Application standards define the rules and procedures for exchanging information data. The rules may include definitions of proper grammar and syntax of a single statement, as well as the sequence of allowed statements. This is similar to combining words and sentences to form a sentence, or a complete thought, and defining the rules for greeting each other and exchanging information. These standards are roughly equivalent to the Session, Presentation and Application Layers of the OSI model .
  • NTCIP Transport Level – Standard Transport Defining the rules and procedures for exchanging the Application data between points and a ‘network’, including any necessary routing, disassembly / re-assembly and network management functions. This remote control has two telephones. Transportation standards are roughly equivalent to the Transport and Network Layers of the OSI model .
  • NTCIP Subnetwork Level – Subnetwork standards define the rules and procedures for exchanging data between two ‘adjacent’ devices over some communications media. This is the equivalent of a copper wire. These standards are roughly equivalent to the Data Link and Physical Layers of the OSI model .
  • NTCIP Plant Level – The Plant Level is shown in the NTCIP Framework as a means of providing NTCIP. The NTCIP is an integrated communications infrastructure that enables users to communicate and communicate with each other. The NTCIP standards do not prescribe any one media type over another. In most cases, communications media selections are made early in the design phase.

The NTCIP Framework does not preclude combinations beyond those expressly indicated on the diagram.


  1. ^ Jump up to:b NEMA – NTCIP
  2. Jump up^ US Department of Transportation ITS Standards Program
  3. ^ Jump up to:e The NTCIP Guide

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *